Bighorn National Forest seeks advisory members

— August 15, 2014

(Press release) — The Bighorn National Forest is seeking to fill openings on the Bighorn Resource Advisory Committee.

The committee’s duties include recommending projects and funding to improve forest health, watersheds, roads, and facilities on or adjacent to the Bighorn National Forest.

The committee oversees funding authorized under Title II of the Secure Rural Schools Act. The Act gives states and counties payments to be used for projects that will benefit the natural resources on the Bighorn National Forest. Projects could include road and trail maintenance, watershed restoration, improvement of fish and wildlife habitat, control of invasive weeds, and improvements in forest health.

Committee members will be appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture and must represent varied interests and areas of expertise. Members serve four-year terms and must be able to commit the time necessary to carry out membership responsibilities. The Bighorn Resource Advisory Committee meets once or twice a year. Committee members are not compensated. 

Some duties of the committee are proposing and reviewing projects, providing coordination with the Forest Service, providing opportunities for the public to participate in the development of projects, monitoring project implementation, and recommending changes to projects.

“We’re looking for people with energy and commitment,” said district ranger Dave Hogen, “people who are interested in working with the diverse array of interests represented on the committee.”

Any Wyoming resident interested in serving on the Bighorn Resource Advisory Committee must complete an application, including information that will be used for a required background check. Applications are available online. and at Bighorn National Forest offices in Buffalo, Lovell, and Sheridan.

Printed, signed applications should be sent to Bighorn National Forest, attention Christopher D. Jones, 2013 Eastside 2nd Street, Sheridan, WY 82801.

For more information about the Committee, please contact Christopher D. Jones, Resource Advisory Committee Coordinator, at (307) 674-2627 or

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *